top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

Senior Spotlight 5: Joey Audia (South Fayette)


Joey Audia runs with a football in his right hand during a South Fayette football game.

SOURCE: (MaxPreps)


One in a series on tributing high school seniors, who are about to graduate high school from the WPIAL & City League.


Name: Joey Audia

School: South Fayette

Sports: Football and Track & Field (WPIAL Football Champion, 2018)

Future College: Butler University (Will play Football)

Future Major: Finance


Questions & Answers


What was your favorite high school memory up to this point?

Joey Audia: My favorite high school memory was no doubt playing at Heinz Field during my sophomore year and winning a WPIAL Championship. (South Fayette defeated Thomas Jefferson 31-24 in the 2018 4A WPIAL Football Championship Game.)


As the WPIAL team and individual Track & Field championships are approaching, what are some of the goals that you want to achieve before your career is over?

JA: A goal I’m trying to achieve is breaking the 400 meter school record. I’m sitting at second place with a 51 second 400, and I look forward to possibly breaking that at either the WPIAL individual or team championships.


You're going to continue your football and academic career at Butler. How excited are you to get to work there?

JA: I can’t wait to get out to Indianapolis, and get to work. It’s a blessing to accomplish a childhood goal of playing Division I football, but there is still so much more work to be done, and there are more goals that can be achieved.


Ok, who is your favorite NFL player?

JA: My favorite NFL player is Tyreek Hill. He’s one of the smallest dudes on the field, but his game is insane.


TopGolf is located in South Fayette Township. Do you think you're nice at golf?

JA: My friends and I always go down to TopGolf since it’s so close to us. I love to golf, but I’d consider myself very average at it.


How excited are you for Prom later on in the month?

JA: It will be cool to finally get a high school prom after last year's prom getting cancelled. With all the restrictions being loosened up a little, I think everyone in the school is just looking forward to having somewhat of a sense of normalcy with prom.


Tell me how much fun you've had in the past at South Fayette's Mini-Thon. And, how excited are you for this year's Mini-Thon?

JA: Mini-Thon is usually a 12 hour event where we stay up all night and dance to celebrate all of the money we raised to fight childhood cancer. I've had the opportunity to participate in the Honors Management class where we basically put on the event and sell sponsorships to different companies. This year's event will look a little different due to all the restrictions, but we are still super excited to put on something and keep raising awareness for childhood cancer.


Who would you say is one of your favorite teachers at South Fayette?

JA: One of my favorite teachers at South Fayette is Mr. Flannery. I’ve took Accounting, Sports Marketing, Business Management, and Honors Management with him in my four years. A memory I’ll always have with Mr. Flannery is seeing his football skills when we ran routes together for a school media video.


Would you change anything at all during your high school experience?

JA: I honestly don’t think I’d change how I went about high school at all. Looking back at the past four years, I’m happy with the choices I’ve made. I'm also happy with the goals I’ve achieved and the goals I have set out to achieve.


What do you think you will miss the most about high school?

JA: I think I’ll miss the relationships I created with the kids I grew up from the beginning. Also, I’ll definitely miss running out of the tunnel on Friday nights to the whole South Fayette community with the band playing behind me.


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

JA: Something people would be surprised to know about me is that I actually played baseball since the age of 5, but I gave it up in high school to focus on football and track.



Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BYHilton13

122 views
bottom of page