top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

Senior Spotlight 8: Grace Henderson (Belle Vernon)


Back in November 2020, Grace Henderson showed off her University of Akron sweatshirt and hat.

SOURCE: (Twitter, @Grace1Henderson)


One in a series on tributing high school seniors, who are about to graduate high school from the WPIAL & City League.


Name: Grace Henderson

School: Belle Vernon

Sports: Track & Field, Cross Country, Basketball and Soccer

Future College: University of Akron (Will compete in Track & Field)

Future Major: Biomedical Science


Questions & Answers


Up to this point, what has been your favorite high school memory?

Grace Henderson: My favorite memory is a tie between my junior year, whenever our soccer team beat Oakland Catholic to advance to the WPIAL semifinals, and then this year making it to Track and Field Team Championships for the first time in Belle Vernon history.


You are a four-sport athlete participating in basketball, soccer, cross country, and Track & Field. What was that like for you?

GH: It was definitely hard to do all four sports. A couple of times, I was tempted to specialize in only Track & Field because of how demanding it was to do compete in all four sports. However, I loved all my sports and giving them up wasn’t an option. As I end my high school career, I’m very grateful to have been able to compete in all four since they have given me many amazing memories and taught me many life lessons. One of the things I had to get good at was time managing my school work and practice times all together. Sometimes I even had two back-to-back practices for various sports. Overall, it was definitely worth it due to the friendships all four of the sports have brought me over the years.


Back in November 2020, you decided to commit to the University of Akron to continue your academic and Track & Field career. What made you decide that Akron was home for you?

GH: From the start, Akron stood out to me. They have the culture of a championship winning team, and they have amazing facilities. Overall, the main deciding reason was that the coaches were top-notch, and I’m very exciting to run for them next year.


As the WPIAL individual Track & Field championships are approaching, what are some of the goals that you want to achieve before your career is over?

GH: Before my career is over. I have many goals. Individually I want to qualify for the state meet. Not getting a season last year definitely heightened my determination and mindset coming into this season, and I also think the determination and mindset of my teammates increased as well.


Alright, who is your favorite person to follow on Twitter?

GH: I love following track accounts such as MileSplit and RunnerSpace. I also enjoy following other athletes.


What is your favorite class that you had ever taken at Belle Vernon?

GH: The Project Lead The Way Biomedical Science class


So, how awesome is it to play sports on a field that is gold in Belle Vernon's? It's very unique compared to other fields in the WPIAL & City League.

GH: Playing soccer on the gold turf was pretty cool. It was nice having something unique compared to the traditional turf that other schools have.


Belle Vernon does not have a track. Throughout your Track & Field career, what has it been like practicing without a track?

GH: It definitely has been hard to run track without an actual track to practice on, but our team finds a way to make it work.


What do you think you would miss the most about high school?

GH: The comradery among the high school athletic community.


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

GH: People would be surprised to find out how tall I really am. I’m six feet, two inches tall.



Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BYHilton13


57 views
bottom of page