top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

Senior Spotlight 9: Will Ray (Central Catholic)


Earlier in the school year, Will Ray posed for a senior picture.

SOURCE: (Twitter, @will_ray21)


One in a series on tributing high school seniors, who are about to graduate high school from the WPIAL & City League.


Name: Will Ray

School: Central Catholic

Sports: Baseball

Future College: Wake Forest University (Will play Baseball)

Future Major: Business Management (Wants to go to Law School in the future)


Questions & Answers


Up to this point, what has been your favorite high school memory?

Will Ray: Winning the section title when I was a freshman was pretty special. We had lost the first couple of games early in the season. However, we went on to win 11 straight, and clinch the section in a night game against North Allegheny. It was a really cool moment for all of us.


Back in July 2019, you committed to Wake Forest to continue your baseball and academic career. What made you choose Wake Forest?

WR: It was the perfect fit. I was always looking for a high academic school, and it had everything I wanted and more. Plus, you can’t really beat playing competitive ACC baseball in North Carolina weather.


Your fellow Central Catholic teammate, Joey Pilewski, committed to Pittsburgh's baseball team back in September. Someday, you two will probably face each other when Wake Forest and Pittsburgh will play each other in an ACC baseball conference game. Have you and Joey ever talked about how cool it will be to play each other in college?

WR: Oh, all the time. Joe and I are super close, and we get along really well. It will be really awesome to suit up against him for the next couple of years.


Your Central Catholic baseball team is going to be back in the WPIAL 6A baseball playoffs. Tell me how excited you are to get back to the postseason?

WR: I am so excited. To be honest, it hasn’t been the year we expected, but clinching a spot in the WPIAL 6A playoffs always feels good. We are ready to make a run at it.


Ok, so you have faced a lot of pitches in your high school career. Who do you think is the best pitcher that you have ever faced?

WR: I would have to say Ryan Partridge (Left-Handed Pitcher for Penn State's baseball team, and former North Allegheny baseball player). He always seemed to have my number with that slider pitch of his.


Ok, so tell me. Are you a Pirates fan. If so, who is your favorite player? If you're not a Pirates fan, which MLB team is your favorite?

WR: I am a Pirates fan, even though it’s really hard sometimes. I also really like the Tampa Bay Rays. However, I have to say my favorite player is Josh Donaldson (Third baseman for the Minnesota Twins) though.


Central Catholic graduate Damar Hamlin got selected in the sixth round of the 2021 NFL Draft by the Buffalo Bills. How cool was it to see him get drafted?

WR: I missed Damar’s time at Central by a few years, but it’s always really cool to see Central guys go on to the next level.


The annual Faculty vs. Seniors game happened on Monday at Central Catholic with the faculty winning 44-29. How cool was it to watch your grade and the teachers play?

WR: It was awesome. I had a front row seat doing all the in-game commentary, so it was a really cool experience for all of us.


Your last day of high school was on Monday as you hung your tie up as part of a Central Catholic tradition. How does it feel that high school is just about done?

WR: It feels surreal, to hang your tie on the statue is a really special moment. I loved every second of my four years at Central, and It still hasn’t sunk in that’s it’s over.


Now, what do you think you will miss the most about high school?

WR: Definitely all the guys, we are all so close. It was really special.


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

WR: When I was 13 years old, I was diagnosed with Crohn’s disease. It was a pretty wild time for me to go through that, but it’s just something I have to deal with for the rest of my life now.



Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BYHilton13

133 views
bottom of page